Confluent Platform 7.0 と Cluster Linking でクラウドへのリアルタイムブリッジを構築 | ブログを読む

Online Talk

Event-Driven Architectures Done Right

Thursday, December 2, 2021

11 AM PDT | 2 PM EDT | 11 AM BST | 11 AM SGT| 2 PM AEDT

Far from a controversial choice, Kafka is now a technology developers and architects are adopting with enthusiasm. And it’s often not just a good choice, but a technology enabling meaningful improvements in complex, evolvable systems that need to respond to the world in real time. But surely it’s possible to do wrong!

In this talk, we’ll look at common mistakes in event-driven systems built on top of Kafka:

  • Deploying Kafka when an event-driven architecture is not the best choice.
  • Ignoring schema management. Events are the APIs of event-driven systems!
  • Writing bespoke consumers when stream processing is a better fit.
  • Using stream processing when you really need a database.
  • Trivializing the task of elastic scaling in all parts of the system.

It’s highly likely for medium- and large-scale systems that an event-first perspective is the most helpful one to take, but it’s early days, and it’s still possible to get this wrong. Come to this talk for a survey of mistakes not to make.

作者

Tim Berglund

Sr. Director of Developer Experience

Tim Berglund is a teacher, author, and technology leader with Confluent, where he serves as the Senior Director of Developer Experience. He can frequently be found at speaking at conferences in the United States and all over the world. He is the co-presenter of various O’Reilly training videos on topics ranging from Git to Distributed Systems, and is the author of Gradle Beyond the Basics. He tweets as @tlberglund, blogs very occasionally at http://timberglund.com, is the co-host of the http://devrelrad.io podcast, and lives in Littleton, CO, USA with the wife of his youth and their youngest child, the other two having mostly grown up.

Register Now